Lots of questions

Information, discussion and questions about Death on the Gambia
Drewwww
Murderer

Lots of questions

Postby Drewwww » Fri Feb 06, 2015 1:07 am

Hello there!

I am very new to this, but I am trying out my very first freeform game in a couple of months to celebrate my 40th birthday. I am eating all of this info up right now, but I have a few questions about DOTG. Hoping the wisdom of the moderators and those experienced with the game will come through :)

1. Venue concerns: We have booked a local venue to have our event. It is a riverboat which has permanent residence here in our home town. The space we have is a small (seats 30) room and the outside balcony which essentially surrounds the room. It will be so great. However, with the complications of an external venue I was wondering what to expect when you are not at home and can’t “improvise”. Meaning, if something needs to be printed out at the last minute or something goes missing and you need a quick replacement, you can do this easily at home. But somewhere else, what do you do? Is this even an issue? Has anyone else held their event on a riverboat, and what can we expect?

2. Multiple Extras: We have a lot of players - 15 total, so we are using all of the extra characters. I had to modify the character sheets as indicated, but it occurs to me that each “extra character” only refers back to the original 11. Would it be ok to add other things so that extra characters (like Ginger Roberts) can also have ties to other extra characters? Otherwise it seems like they could be outsiders with only 8-11 “main” players. This would mean changing the “info about others”, and I’m not really certain if doing so adds too much conflict/requirements/complexity for each character. And on that note: